sitemap          search the site here

  1. "Remanufacture" (Demanufacture) (remixed by Rhys Fulber) - 6:43
  2. "National Panel Beating" (Body Hammer) (remixed by Rhys Fulber) - 4:38
  3. "Genetic Blueprint" (New Breed) (remixed by Junkie XL) - 4:23
  4. "Faithless" (Zero Signal) (remixed by Rhys Fulber) - 5:25
  5. "Bionic Chronic" (remixed by Junkie XL) - 0:35
  6. "Cloning Technology" (Replica) (remixed by Kingsize) - 6:01
  7. "Burn" (Flashpoint) (remixed by Junkie XL) - 5:04
  8. "T-1000" (H-K (Hunter-Killer)) (remixed by DJ Dano) - 4:07
  9. "Machines of Hate" (Self Bias Resistor) (remixed by Rhys Fulber) - 5:50
  10. "21st Century Jesus" (Pisschrist) (remixed by Rhys Fulber) - 7:10
  11. "Bound for Forgiveness" (A Therapy For Pain) (remixed by Rhys Fulber) - 6:00
  12. "Refinery" - 3:03
"Remanufacture" (Edited Version) (remixed by Rhys Fulber) - 5:26


Burton C. Bell - Vocals

Dino Cazares - Guitar

Raymond Herrera - Drums

Christian Olde Wolbers - Bass 

FEAR  FACTORY: "Remanufacture"     fear factory  

Original Release Date:  May 20th 1997 Roadrunner Records

Produced by Colin Richardson, Greg Reely, Dino Cazares, Junkie XL, and Fear Factory

The Industrialist


review by Matthew Haumschild___ 

Ahead of its time.

Oh, my brothers and sisters of metal. I realize this album came out 12 years ago, but believe that this album didn’t get the attention it rightfully deserved. It all came to me as I was about to go out on the town, and I was looking for some good tunes to compliment some of the stuff I was listening to, such acts like Delerium and Conjure One which are electronic and ambient in nature and not so metal. I buzz through my 500+ CD collection, which by the way is 96% Metal, and I come across this CD, and I said, “I haven’t listened to this CD in years.” Not to mention, the producers and some of the remixes were done by the same people as the groups mentioned above.

So, I am going out with this beautiful woman, Cretia is her name, and she isn’t quite into metal as I am, her tastes are elsewhere, anyway, I put this CD in as we drive to Minneapolis. To my surprise, she liked it! And I was really digging it. For me, it is the best of both worlds, its metal and it’s industrial without being too overbearing in most spots and it can be played and enjoyed by a variety of people.

I remember being a 16 year old teenager with dreadlocks, who listened to nothing but metal when this CD came out, and at the time I was skeptical because at the time, Fear Factory was still pretty new on the national level and in a few month they were to tour with Ozzy, Machine Head, Pantera, Manson on the Ozzfest 97’ tour, which at the time was the largest underground metal festival in the world, not to mention my favourite concert as a teenager In the advertisements that were out promoting the festival, it listed all the new or latest albums of the bands on tour, and “Remanfacture” was on it. But it wasn’t really new to the people that were already listening to Fear Factory, but to new listeners trying to give Fear Factory a chance and they heard this CD and tore it apart saying that it was too electronic and it wasn’t metal enough.

In my opinion, these statements were completely and utterly unfounded. Don’t get me wrong my brothers and sisters, there are a few tracks that weren’t that good, such as “T-1000,” the H-K remix, it was a “Happy Hardcore” mix, or that style of remix. A genre typically found at raves.

 However, the other tracks on this CD make it worth buying, such as “National Panel Beating,” where it focuses on the beats of “Body Hammer” rather than the overall song. The remix made the song hit harder than the original but obviously it’s not nearly as blistering. This track is a perfect remix of this song, it’s original and inventive. “Faithless” is one of those cruising songs that can only really be played at night, it just doesn’t work during the day doing chores around the house, one has to be doing something else, at night preferably, it’s hard to explain. “Cloning Technology” is a long time favourite of mine on this disc. The remix goes along with the song perfectly, only changing the drum beats to electronic beats and the remix adds better keyboard and more solemn yet inorganic component to the mix. The original track was a little depressing due to the content of the lyrics, the remix enhances the anger in it by transforming some of the sadness surrounding the lyrics to something almost positive sounding. “Machines of Hate” is a pure industrial-metal remix, it retains the majority of the song as a whole but places more emphasis on dance/industrial on the song as a whole.

“21st Century Jesus” and “Bound for Forgiveness” have to be listened to concurrently because they blend perfectly together into each other. It’s hard just to listen to one of these tracks because it feels incomplete. “21st Century Jesus” could and should be included in movie soundtracks, but since it’s just you and hopefully someone else, these tracks are perfect to listen to on a clear night where one can see all the stars or when you’re driving to and through a metropolis. “Bound for Forgiveness” kind of reminds me of music one could play to as you’re getting a massage. It’s soothing yet dark. It’s all electronic in the theme of the song “A Therapy for Pain,” but this is much more electronically based than the original track, matter of fact, the original track barely has any resemblance on this song, except at the end.

In retrospect, this album might have been ahead of it’s time. Might, is the key word here, because I got older, I grew to appreciate this album a lot more as my taste for music has been and being developed as I am getting older. I believe it takes a mature ear or at least an open mind to something other than blasts beats to enjoy this CD. If someone is just into electronica or drum & bass or Happy Hardcore, they might not like this song, same thing goes if someone just likes metal, might not like this CD, but if you’re like me who likes a wide range of music that could compliment each other, you’ll dig this CD. Finding tracks on youtube could prove difficult, so I suggest buying it on-line in digital form or CD.


  written 20.04.2009 by  Matthew Haumschild   

  Matthew Haumschild   

Matthew Haumschild is a staff writer/editor for since 2002

He is based out of Minneapolis Minnesota USA he can be reached at and  on

zum Seitenanfang top - inizio pagina

©  2001-2012Niederrohrdorf - Switzerlandcontact web: dalia di giacomo